Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Debt Deflation Bear Market Update Part I: 2009 Windup - Eric Janszen

Debt Deflation Bear Market Update Part I: 2009 Windup

December 27, 2007 we warned of a major bear market in US stocks coming in 2008. The cause? Debt deflation following a 27 year credit bubble, much as occurred in the US starting in 1930 after the 1920s credit bubble and in Japan since 1990 after a credit bubble in Japan that ended in 1989. We forecast for 2008 a decline similar to the Nikkei in 1990, the first year of Japan’s debt deflation, of around 40%. We called it the Debt Deflation Bear Market. Today in our forecast for 2009 we see the Debt Deflation Bear Market continuing but with a Fiscal Stimulus and Reflation Trade operating within it.

I’m feeling cranky, so this analysis is more cranky than my usual. As regular readers know, my background is in technology and finance, with experience as CEO of high technology companies and in venture capital management. It will not surprise readers to hear that many of my friends have similar backgrounds. You may wonder what they have made of my less than optimistic outlook on the US and global economy over the past several years.

They had the option of hearing my opinions or the professional advice of an army of certified and well meaning financial planners and money managers, the vast majority of whom are trained to sell Wall Street’s main financial product: stocks. Armed with “efficient market hypothesis” that claims that markets are all knowing and asset prices reflect all knowable information, and charts and graphs that “prove” that buy-and-hold is the way to make money in the stock market, they carefully develop for their clients, my friends, portfolios heavy in assorted stock funds and indexes, various flavors of bonds, and perhaps a few commodity ETFs for the adventuresome. The mantra, delivered with the consistency of religious belief, is this: you cannot time the markets.