Thread: Recession 2007: Part I - Eric Janszen

Threaded View

Default Recession 2007: Part I - Eric Janszen

Recession 2007: Part I

by Eric Janszen - October 27, 2006

Riding a bicycle is an act of continuous, unconscious balance, the habit of turning right as the bicycle falls slightly right, left as it falls slightly left, in a series of minute automatic corrections. Recently spent a few hours trying to teach my seven year old niece how to ride. A few hours of pushing, running, and catching, and after she fell down a few times, were a lesson for me that I'd forgotten: this balancing act is learned and not innate.

I've been riding bikes for nearly 40 years. Today I'm flying down the bike path in the chill autumn air. At least I feel like I''m flying, full throttle, without the obstacles that plague this course on a typical warm summer day: spaced out children whose parents have abandoned them to learn the US drive-on-the-right rule the hard way; a group of teenage boys re-enacting a segment of "Jackass" with a shopping cart; roller-bladers competing with each other for their own special category Darwin Award, flailing their legs–using the whole path–to the rhythm of the music streaming into their heads from little iPod ear buds, blocking the sound of equally oblivious car drivers at intersections; not to mention other cyclists ranging from the Lance Armstrongs on their 16.8 pound $3,600 carbon frame bikes who must imagine they're on an open stretch of road in Valkenburg, to the wide seat waddlers on their two wheeled Winnebagos.