• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• At Last America gets it!

Last of the V8's?
    http://detnews.com/article/20100107/...e-into-history

Mike

Re: At Last America gets it!

As an automotive engineer, I understand those big V-8's are totally unnecessary, but I grew up driving them and love them dearly. A typical US car had a 5.7 Liter V-8 (350 cubic inches), and the big ones were over 6.5 liters (400 cubic inches). My dad was an Oldsmobile man and preferred the 455 Rocket engine, a cool 7.5 liters. My little sister still owns one for nostalgia. You should see it barreling down the road spewing hydrocarbons and throwing gravel....:p

Comment

I bought a TR7 in the early 80's, it had a "Jimmy Carter era" 2 litre that couldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding. I place a Rover 3.5 litre V8 in place...........much better!

Mike

Comment

Originally posted by Mega View Post
        I bought a TR7 in the early 80's, it had a "Jimmy Carter era" 2 litre that couldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding. I place a Rover 3.5 litre V8 in place...........much better!

Mike
        You'll probably hate me for pointing this out Mike, but that 3.5 litre Rover engine was originally designed and built by the Buick Division of General Motors. It was an early attempt by GM to produce a light weight all-aluminum engine [heads and block], and although it was a fine engine, the low production volume and the special maintenance requirements caused GM to discontinue the engine and sell the tooling to Rover in the mid-60's. In the hands of you Brits the engine had a near 4 decade production run until MG went down the tubes.

One of my brothers imported a 1971 Rover 3500 sedan into Canada...nice car but nobody in the colonies knew how to fix it.

[Never get a car nut going... ]
        Last edited by GRG55; January 07, 2010, 11:38 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by thriftyandboringinohio View Post