The 12 Rules of Survival Laurence Gonzales, Based on his book Deep Survival

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The 12 Rules of Survival Laurence Gonzales, Based on his book Deep Survival

Make appropriate adjustments for sample representativeness, dumb luck and survivor bias (only the survivors get interviewed)

and reporter bias (this reporter may have seen what he wanted to see, a la Maslow & his "actualization")

from his book: Deep Survival - Copyright (c) 2003 by Laurence Gonzales

_____
    As a journalist, I've been writing about accidents for more than thirty years. In the last 15 or so years, I've concentrated on accidents in outdoor recreation, in an effort to understand who lives, who dies, and why. To my surprise, I found an eerie uniformity in the way people survive seemingly impossible circumstances. Decades and sometimes centuries apart, separated by culture, geography, race, language, and tradition, the most successful survivors–those who practice what I call “deep survival”–go through the same patterns of thought and behavior, the same transformation and spiritual discovery, in the course of keeping themselves alive. Not only that but it doesn't seem to matter whether they are surviving being lost in the wilderness or battling cancer, whether they're struggling through divorce or facing a business catastrophe–the strategies remain the same.

Survival should be thought of as a journey, a vision quest of the sort that Native Americans have had as a rite of passage for thousands of years. Once you're past the precipitating event–you're cast away at sea or told you have cancer–you have been enrolled in one of the oldest schools in history. Here are a few things I've learned that can help you pass the final exam.

1. Perceive and Believe. Don't fall into the deadly trap of denial or of immobilizing fear. Admit it: You're really in trouble and you're going to have to get yourself out.